Hsuan Chuang University

  • Year Founded :1997
  • Faculty :158
  • Students :5603
  • International Students :146

Hsuan Chuang University was founded in 1997 in Hsinchu City, Taiwan, originally as "Hsuan Chuang College of Humanities and Social Sciences." It was founded by the Ven. Liao Zhong (了中), and named for the Tang Dynasty monk Xuanzang.

In the first year of establishment, five academic departments (Foreign Languages, Law, Mass Communication, Social Welfare, and Information Management) and one graduate institute (Religion) began to enroll students. Approved by the Ministry of Education in 2004 for its outstanding academic performance, Hsuan Chuang College of Humanities and Social Sciences moved to the next challenging stage, and officially became “Hsuan Chuang University."

Hsuan Chuang University is located in Hsinchu City in the Northern part of Taiwan. The campus of the school rests on a mountainside by a river and offers an ideal setting for study and extracurricular activities. The geographical advantage of the school provides Hsuan Chuang University with great opportunities for commuting to Taipei and other cities.

Although founded by Buddhists, Hsuan Chuang University is broadly indistinguishable from other private universities in Taiwan. There are no religious requirements in here. Students can enjoy the freedom of religious belief, various foods, and embracing integration of knowledge-action. Hsuan Chuang University has won the Teaching Excellence Project Funds from Ministry of Education for years. We focus on the teaching excellence, raising distinguished students, and continuously developing innovative education.

The scope of the University has gradually expanded in the following years, both academic programs and facilities, such as a state-of-art virtual studio and Hsuan Chuang Television Station. In the summer of 2005, Hsuan Chuang University won approval as one of the best in the newly established private universities in the National Academic Evaluation. The University’s outstanding performance in education was again recognized by the Ministry of Education, since awarded the Grant for Promoting University Academic Excellence in 2006.

Currently, the university has 4 colleges comprising 14 departments and 9 Master's degree programs. The four colleges are the College of Communication, the College of Design, the College of Social Science and the College of International Hospitality and Management.

1. College of Communication
(1)Mass Communication (BA/MA)
(2)Broadcasting and Journalism (BA)
(3)Performing and Media Arts (BA)

2. College of Design
(1)Visual Communication Design (BA/MA)
(2)Art of Creative Design (BA)
(3)Fashion Design (BA)

3. College of Social Science
(1)Social Work (BA/MA)
(2)Applied Psychology (BA/MA)
(3)Law (BA/MA)
(4)Region and Culture (BA/MA)

4. College of International Hospitality and Management
(1)Business Administration (BA/MA)
(2)Information Management (BA/MA)
(3)Applied Foreign Languages (BA/MA)
(4)Hospitality Management (BA)

The school has been an instruction-based university, pursuing optimization and internationalization all the time. In particular, we have gradually established a combination of learning and practice for students, and enhanced teaching quality persistently and steadily. We sincerely welcome overseas students to study at our school. For any further details about admission, please feel free to contact us directly or visit our web at http://www.hcu.edu.tw.

Year Founded : 1997

Type of institution : Privates University

Contact : Admissions Office

TEL : 886-3-5302255*2144

Email : [email protected]

Address : NO.48, Hsuan Chuang Rd., Hsinchu City, Taiwan, R.O.C

Faculty : 158

Students : 5603

Undergraduate : 4970

Graduate : 487

International Students : 146

Academics : 26

Colleges : 4

Departments : 14

Graduate Institutes : 8