National Penghu University of Science and Technology

  • Year Founded :1991
  • Faculty :121
  • Students :3069
  • International Students :42

Established in 1991, Penghu Campus of National GaoXiong Marine Junior College is the predecessor of National Penghu University of Science and Technology that formally comes off and shifts into National Penghu Marine Junior College in 1995. In the year of 2000, it is upgraded to National Penghu Institute and officially reorganized into a university of science and technology. Being the first and one-and-only university of science and technology in outlying island form on Taiwan Strait, our university is composed of 3 schools including college of Humanities and Management, college of Tourism and Leisure, and college of Marine Resources and Engineering, with 12 departments, 5 graduate institutes, and a general education center. Our goal is to culture all kinds of talents and experts in the fields of marine fishery, tourism and leisure, technology, and management for our country, offering not only local opportunities of personnel training which can reduce education divide between Penghu County and Island of Taiwan but also direct contributions in promoting regional industrial development, economic and cultural growth.

1.August first, 1991: Penghu Branch of Kaohsiung Marine Academy
2.July first, 1995: Independent as National Penghu Marine Academy
3.August first, 2000: National Penghu Institute of Technology
4.August first, 2005: National Penghu University

【Academic Development in Unique Areas】:
Our school is a comprehensive university of technology which covers fishery, industry, and business. The three major areas on which we base our development are aquaculture, leisure and tourism, and green energy. We emphasize on both cooperation with local industries and practical teaching in order to equip students with world visions, creative abilities, and professional skills, so that we can meet the requirements of national economy and local industries.

【Students and Faculty】:
We have twelve departments from three colleges and also have five graduate school departments, and the number of students is about 3,011. As for the faculty, the number of full-time members is 121, including more than 102 having owned assistant professorship and higher.

Year Founded : 1991

Type of institution : National technical University

Contact : International Cooperation

TEL : 06-9264115#1708

Email :

Address : 300, Liu-Ho Rd., Makung City, Penghu County, Taiwan, R.O.C.

Faculty : 121

Student : 3069

Undergraduate : 2915

Graduate : 112

International Students : 42

Academics : 20

College : 3

Department : 12

Grad. Inst. : 5

Campus features

School Features

  • Sports facilities
  • Gymnasium
  • Wifi on campus
  • International student service
  • Homestay placement service
  • Chinese language support
  • Career guidance
  • Banking facilities
  • Accommodation advisory service

Accommodation Options

  • Onsite apartments
  • Homestay
  • Halls of residence
  • Boarding hostel

Religious Facilities

  • Temple
  • Muslim Prayer Space
  • Chapel