National Chiayi University

  • Year Founded :1919
  • Faculty :1436
  • Students :11799
  • International Students :313

National Chiayi University was formed in February 2000 by merging two existing colleges in Chiayi, i.e., National Chiayi Institute of Technology (NCIT) and National Chiayi Teachers College(NCTC). The University now has seven colleges, which include 7 doctoral programs, 42 full-time master’s degree programs, and 39 undergraduate programs. NCYU is one of the oldest and largest universities in the southern part of Taiwan.

* Campuses
The University comprises four campuses and a practicum forest, for a total land mass of 285.32 hectares. The four campuses include the Lantan Campus, Minsyong Campus, Sinmin Campus and Linsen Campus. Lantan Campus, the administration headquarter is situated in the well-known scenic area between Lantan Reservoir and Renyitan Reservoir. It accommodates the College of Agriculture, College of Science and Engineering and College of Life Sciences. Minsyong Campus, situated in Minsyong Township, accommodates the Teachers College and College of Humanities and Arts. Sinmin Campus, situated in the center of Chiayi City, accommodates College of Management and College of Veterinary Medicine. A variety of extension and lifelong learning programs are offered in Linsen campus to provide educational service to the local community. The practicum forest offers students of related professions hands-on experiences in the field. In conclusion, the four campuses and the practicum forest have their own unique characteristics while they appropriately complement each other.

*Academic Exchange and International Cooperation
NCYU supports and encourages international study, teaching and research programs cooperating with partner universities. The University currently has 105 international partner universities. Through cooperating academic collaboration and various types of mobility with the partners, the University anticipates to build international network for our faculties, staff and students to gain global experiences, as well as to enhance institutional reputation. NCYU believes global engagement is not only foundational to academic excellence, essential for faculty development and research excellence, but also important to students’ educational development, personal growth, and professional competitiveness. The aim of short term program is to provide NCYU faculty members and students opportunities to develop global experiences as well as to better connect with the international society. Different types of programs working with various international partners are provided for faculties and students to boost both academic collaboration and internationally mobility. In addition, short term programs can also facilitate campus internationalization and global learning.

We welcome you to be a part of us. Come experience National Chiayi University, a school always committed to finding solutions to the great challenges of the day and to preparing our students for the world beyond NCYU.

Year Founded : 1919

Type of institution : National University

Contact : Office of International Affairs, Division of International Student Affairs

TEL : +886-5-2717296

Email : [email protected]

Address : No.300 Syuefu Rd., Chiayi City 60004, Taiwan ( R.O.C.)



Faculty : 1436

Students : 11799

Undergraduate : 9169

Graduate : 2317

International Students : 313

Academics : 88

Colleges : 7

Departments : 39

Graduate Institutes : 42

Campus features

School Features

  • Sports facilities
  • Gymnasium
  • Wifi on campus
  • International student service
  • Homestay placement service
  • Chinese language support
  • Career guidance
  • Banking facilities
  • Accommodation advisory service

Accommodation Options

  • Onsite apartments
  • Homestay
  • Halls of residence
  • Boarding hostel

Religious Facilities

  • Temple
  • Muslim Prayer Space
  • Chapel