University & Program

National Sun Yat-sen University

Department of Biological Sciences (Master Degree)

Program Level
Language of instruction
Above 90% taught in English
Fall / Spring

The Department of Biological Sciences at NSYSU was established in 1987 with goals of training biological scientists and enhancing the development of biotechnology in Taiwan. The MS and Ph.D. programs were initiated in 1992 and 1997, respectively. The continuing education master degree program was founded in 1999.

Currently, the Department has 18 faculty members, 12 adjunct faculties, 3 part-time faculties, one endowed chair professor and one emeritus professor. The specialties of the faculty are within two research divisions, including: (1) Ecology and Evolution and (2) Molecular and Cell Biology. In addition, the Department has two technical officers and one assistant supporting the teaching and research.

Annual enrollment includes approximately 50 undergraduate students, 17 MS students and 3 Ph.D. students. Junior and senior undergraduates are encouraged to take advance graduate courses. The university provides interdisciplinary courses for students to obtain Biotechnology program certificates or double major degree. The department also encourages undergraduate research. More than half of the junior undergraduate students join research groups of the faculties and get involved in research projects each year. In addition, the department offers the Shen-Non Research Award and scholarship to encourage students to pursue excellence in their academic research.

For information concerning application of admission to the undergraduate, MS, and PhD programs, please contact the Department at the e-mail address [email protected].
For more information about the faculty members as well as their research topics and a brief description of the Department curricula, please see the web site "" for details.


Contact information

Office of International Affairs
Back to results